Orly Star Spangled

Hey guys, I have actual nail polish pics for you today! ;)

I seem to gravitate towards reds and vampies these days, so Orly Star Spangled is right up my alley. It has red glitter in a red jelly base. Sounds familiar, you say? Exactly, it’s a dupe for China Glaze Ruby Pumps, as far as I’m concerned. The only difference, if I have to nitpick, is that the glitter in Star Spangled is finer and not as irregular as Ruby Pumps’. If any of you fellow non-Americans have trouble getting China Glaze, this one is a more than adequate replacement for Ruby Pumps.

Application is flawless, I used three coats to get a really deep and sparkly color. It dries a little matte and bumpy on it’s own, so use a topcoat if you want a lot of shine and smoothness.

Take a look!
Here it is in sunlight and shade:

So what do you think of Orly’s version of the red glitter polish? Good enough to eat or just meh?
Thanks for stopping by, have a nice day! :D

Posted on November 28, 2009, in NOTD, Orly and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love all those red based polishes with gold glitter, I think I’ll never get enough of them. I just got Smitten with Mittens from OPI holiday ’09 …guess I’m crazy!
    The glitter in that one looks really fine and elegant, not in-your-face glitter and the color is so yummy! Like redcurrant jam ^_^
    BTW I’m having a small giveaway on my blog, please feel free to come have a look and enter if you’re interested ;)

  2. There is surely no such thing as enough red with red glitter nail polish! :D

    My favourite so far is OPI’s Dear Santa. When I wear this I can’t stop staring at my nails. :)

  3. That doesn’t really look like a dupe of Ruby Pumps to me, unless your camera didn’t capture the color correctly. Ruby Pumps is such a deeper red with tons of red glitter baked into the jelly base. This one looks more candy apple to me.

    • I’m sure it’s just the camera then, because the next day I removed Star Spangled from my index and middle finger and put on Ruby Pumps just to see if I could spot any differences, and I couldn’t tell them apart even if I knew which were which.

      I never got around to taking pics of them together, I have to do that some time. :)
      I remember seeing them swatched next to eachother somewhere, but I can’t find it on google.

      • Oh how interesting! I really do love Ruby Pumps — one of my faves! I think it’s interesting that it would look so different in these pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

