OPI Baby It’s “Coal” Outside! with Matte About You

Hi everyone! Hope you’re still having a great holiday! :)

I’m sporting OPI Baby It’s “Coal” Outside! from last years Christmas collection “Holiday In Toyland”. I thought it would be fitting to wear this on Christmas Day, since it’s from the Christmas collection and all. This polish has lots and lots of silver microglitter in what I would call a jelly-ish black base. It’s totally gorgeous on its own, but after seeing Michelle’s post on the Orly Metal Chic Metallic Matte Collection, I got an idea. She’s comparing Orly Iron Butterfly w/shiny topcoat to Baby It’s “Coal” Outside, so I wanted to turn it around and put a matte topcoat on “Baby” to see if it looked like Iron Butterfly.

Let’s see how it turned out, shall we?
First pic is taken without flash under lamp light, second pic is taken indoors with flash.

While matte “Baby” is a lot darker than IB, and the glitter isn’t as pronounced, I still think it looks really great with a matte topcoat! This cements my opinion about matte polishes vs. matte topcoats. I think it’s so much more reasonable to use my regular polishes with a matte topcoat instead of buying a lot of matte polishes that I probably will get tired of in a while anyway.

The formula on this one is really good, because it’s a jellyish base you need to build it, but three coats are more than enough to get opacity. I even think I’m starting to get used to OPI’s wide brushes, because I didn’t have to do any cleanup here, ladies and gentlemen!

What do you think? Do you buy matte polishes, or are you a matte topcoater like me? Or don’t you like matte polishes at all?

Thanks for stopping by, see you later! :D

Posted on December 25, 2009, in NOTD, OPI and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Ååå skjønt….det er jo matt metallic! :D

    Jeg har fått veldig sansen for de nye der, kommer nok til å kjøpe en til. ;)

    • Jeg foretrekker matt overlakk, da trenger jeg ikke kjøpe de spesielle matte lakkene som jeg kanskje blir lei av. Så er det morsomt å se hvordan de forandrer seg fra blank til matt. :)

  2. I’m not at all into the matte polish craze but I do own a bottle of Matte about You. I’d never envisage buying a matte polishs since matte topcoats are so convenient.
    I think Baby It’s Coal Outside looks very cool with a matte topcoat: as though it was covered with frost.

    • It does look kinda frosty, doesn’t it? I love matte glitters, they look great! :D

      I also love matte topcoats, but I really want some of the OPI Suedes, I haven’t seen anything like it!

  3. I too prefer matte top coat, since matte craze didn’t infect me … much.
    Great color matte or not.

  4. Not a fan of mattes at all. I have considered getting a bottle of matte top coat for nail art purposes, though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

