Illamasqua Grab

I couldn’t wait to try one of the Illamasquas, so I chose Illamasqua Grab for my first meeting with the brand I’ve heard so much about. I originally wanted to buy the pink creme Obsess, but of course it was sold out. :P

Grab is a grape magenta with a glossy finish, according to the Illamasqua web site. I would call it a purple-leaning pink creme. It reminds me of China Glaze Fly without the shimmer. It’s quite hard to photograph, so these pics aren’t quite accurate. It’s a bit more purpleish in real life.

And so to the thing that made me lust after Illamasqua polishes in the first place: The formula. I’ve read so many rave reviews about the Illamasqua formula, so I had really high expectations. They weren’t met. From what I’d heard, I expected small angels descending from heaven, singing Gloria and applying the polish flawlessly onto my nails with the tip of their wings. Well, needless to say, that didn’t happen. Instead I felt that the polish was rather thick and hard to apply. Maybe it just needs some thinner, but I don’t really like to reach for the thinner bottle the first time I’m using a polish.

Anyway, the finished result is admittedly rather stunning. The polish, albeit thick, levels beautifully on the nail and is totally opaque and very glossy after two coats. I just hope Baptiste lives up to the positive things I’ve heard, and that the problems I had with Grab were just a fluke.

See you later! Have a nice day! :D

Posted on March 15, 2010, in Illamasqua, NOTD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Så nydelig! Jeg har ikke bestilt denne, den så så meh ut på hjemmesiden. Fin swatch. Denne skal anskaffes!

  2. Vilken underbar rosa! Jag funderar på att lägga min första Illamasqua-beställning i kväll, men borde kanske spara mina pengar… Svårt beslut! :-)

    • De har jo utrolig mange flotte lakker, ut fra de swatchene jeg har sett rundt på nettet! :D
      Og jeg håper konsistensen på lakken jeg hadde bare var en tilfeldighet, og at ikke alle er så vanskelige som denne. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

