Nail Art Of The Day: Ribbons In Ice

It’s time for the second installment in the Nail Art Of The Day series!

This time I wanted to do some stamping, because I’ve just bought some of the Konad plates with the full nail designs. I love how they look, and with some practice, it’s not really that hard!

I decided to use the swirly design from image plate m63, and I did the stamping with China Glaze Millennium from the Khrome Collection. These metallics, and also the polishes from the Romantique Collection, are awesome for stamping. I actually prefer them to the special Konad polish!

Here’s how I usually set up my workspace when I do stamping. I put pure acetone on the cotton pads, and swipe clean the stamper and the scraper on their respective pads between each nail. I also use a folded up cotton pad with acetone and a pair of tweezers to clean the stamping plate between each stamping, that way the plate stays clean and you don’t ruin your mani by holding the acetone-soaked pad.

After stamping, I added a coat of the Konad Top Coat, it doesn’t smudge the design like regular topcoats may do. It’s not very shiny, though, so I recommend putting a high shine top coat over that again if you want it really glossy.

I decided to go a different route, however, so I finished it with Essie Matte About You. I love how glitters look with a matte topcoat, it reminds me of air bubbles frozen in ice. And the design itself reminded me of ribbons on a gift, so that’s why I’m calling this mani “Ribbons In Ice”.

Click the picture to enlarge.

Thanks for checking out my stumbling steps into the nail art realm. ;)
See you later!
Love, S.

EDIT:
I just figured out another thing this design reminds me of: The logo for Vinmonopolet (the “wine monopoly” in Norway).

ROFL!!!

Posted on August 11, 2010, in Nail art, NAOTD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. A Blissful Skin

    Very cool!

  2. very pretty! I wish my Konading would turn out that well!

  3. Cherrymix.blogg.no

    Knallstilig!!

    hehe så morsomt med vinmonopol-likheten :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

