Comparison: MAC Bad Fairy and OPI The Show Must Go On

One of the big questions this fall has been whether OPI TSMGO from the Burlesque collection is a dupe for the very hyped MAC Bad Fairy from the Venomous Villains collection. Well, I finally got my grubby paws on both of them, and here are my comparison pics. They are taken under indoors lighting.

They both have the foily finish and the duochrome gold flash, but they are not dupes.

The OPI is red-pink, while the MAC is more burgundy in its base color. I have to say that I prefer the OPI for a number of reasons. First, I like the bright color of the OPI better, but that’s just my taste. However, the OPI needs 2-3 coats to be opaque, while the MAC needs 4-5, and with the OPI bottle containing 15 ml and the MAC only 10 ml, you can get a lot more manis out of the OPI. The price of the MAC is also way higher for a lot less polish.

Lastly, the MAC brush is just tragic. My brush had a lot of stray hairs, and I’ve heard that a lot of other people have recieved weird brushes with their BF as well. It’s moppy and hard to use, while the OPI brush is divine as usual. I can’t say anything about the wear of the MAC, because I’ve only swatched it, but the OPI has lasted for days on me without any chips so far.

I have to say, if you’re not super crazy about the color of MAC Bad Fairy, get the OPI instead. It’s a better deal all over, and I don’t think the MAC lives up to the hype at all.

Thanks for looking!
Love, S.

Posted on October 9, 2010, in Comparisons, MAC, OPI and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Yay! Thanks for this comparison! When you wrote in your OPI post that it might be a dupe I thought so too, but now i’m pretty glad it isn’t. Got my hands on Bad Fairy as well and I see the crazy prices on ebay that people are willing to spend for it now! Wow!

  2. I was thinking these two might fall in a similar category, thanks for comparing!

  3. I love these two colors :)
    But I have heard a lot of bad things about MAC nailpolishes… it is sad really cause they are really beautiful :) Thank goodness for good dupes :)

    hugs

  4. Kult!

    Jeg syns Opi var flottest. Den var knallfin :D

  5. Skit… Jag köpte Bad Fairy och hade hoppats slippa köpa OPI TSMGO men nu ser jag att så inte är fallet… Ja ja… Jag får bita i det sura äpplet och införskaffa ett av lacken från Burlesque. Tack för jämförelsen!
    Du får en liten sunshine award också eftersom du är himla bra! :D

  6. I’m so glad you did that comparison, thanks so much!! I just got TSMGO from a transdesign order and I’ve been toying with the idea of getting BF for a while. I’m so glad I didn’t after all, I much prefer the look of the OPI over the MAC.

  7. Tack för jämförelsen, nu har jag bestämt mig för att skippa Bad Fairy. :-)

  8. Når man ser de to lakkene ved siden av hverandre så synes jeg absolutt TSMGO er den fineste. Noe som i grunnen er veldig greit siden det per dags dato er helt umulig å få tak i BF. :D

  1. Pingback: MAC Bad Fairy « Nailin' It!

  2. Pingback: Beauty Spot: OPI The Show Must Go On! nail polish review | Through The Looking Glass

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

