Nail Art Of The Day: Water Marble

Last night I finally worked up the courage to try something I’ve been admiring for a long time, but never really thought I’d manage: Water marbling.

Holy carp, why didn’t I try this before? It’s actually way easier than it looks, and so much fun! I have a lot of ideas to try now, that’s for sure.

My very first marbling may not be perfect or stunning, but it’s a start! I have an idea of what to do and not to do, and practice makes perfect, right?

I used OPI Shorts Story and China Glaze Secret Peri-Wink-Le for the marbling, which was done over my previous ChG SPW mani. I didn’t try for a particular pattern on each nail, this was more of a practice run where I was playing with the swirls of polish in the water.

I found that putting tape around the nails worked very well for keeping the polish where I wanted it to go, and I used both q-tips and my trusted cleanup brush dipped in acetone for cleanup.

I’m not even going to try writing a tutorial for this, instead I’m just going to point you in the general direction of the water marble guru herself, Colette of My Simple Little Pleasures. Both her blog and YouTube channel are full of great pictures and videos of water marbling (and other nail art), she’s an awesome inspiration. Go! Look! Now!

Have you tried water marbling? What do you think?

Have a nice day, everyone! Thanks for reading.
Love, S.

Posted on October 11, 2010, in Nail art, NAOTD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. this is soooo good! great job :) i can NEVER make a decent water marble. once i get one finger to look good i can’t fathom getting the nerve to do all 10 fingers haha!

  2. It looks nice and very neat! Great start!

  3. Lovely! I really want to try it myself but keep forgetting to try it :P

  4. Veldig fint! En dag skal jeg også mote meg opp til å prøve. :)

  5. Tycker det blev väldigt bra! Imponerad! Kanske till och med vågar prova själv någon dag…

  6. Wow, vad snyggt det blev!

    Du har fått en Sunshine award av mig! :-)

  7. This looks great! It almost looks like nail art instead of water marbling – it’s perfect! Congrats on doing it so well on your first time! (mine was disasterous! lol)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

