Chanel Paradoxal

Last year Chanel came out with this weird putty, taupe, purpleish shade with hidden shimmer. It was called Paradoxal, and this polish really lives up to its name. I wasn’t even going to get this one, I couldn’t decide whether I liked it or not. In every swatch pic I saw, it looked different! Is it purple, taupe or grey? Is it a creme or a shimmer? Actually, it’s everything all at once!

Chanel surely must know what they’re doing, because I just couldn’t get this weirdo out of my mind, so when I saw it in the duty free shop when I went to Qatar in November, I decided to pick it up. I originally planned to swap it, but later I decided that I couldn’t let it go without seeing for myself what this polish was all about. I’m not sure I love it, not even if I like it, but at least it’s not boring at all!

I’m not too crazy about Chanel’s brush, I think it’s too soft and unmanageable. I also dislike the small knob that’s the handle, it’s not very easy to control like a normal brush handle. The actual polish itself has an ok consistency, and it’s opaque in two coats.

If you don’t want to splurge on a Chanel, this polish also has a lot of dupes, like most Chanels. The most popular dupe nowadays is Revlon’s Perplex, and that’s a good alternative if you need a budget option.

What do you think of Paradoxal and its dupes?

Thanks for stopping by!
Love, S.

Posted on January 17, 2011, in Chanel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I have Paradoxal and I love it!

  2. I bought it when I saw it because I knew it was “hard to get”…
    I eventually sold it on ebay without wearing it a single time. I didn’t lose any money though ;)

  3. Jättefin bild på skimret!

  4. TropicalChrome

    I keep looking for the Revlon dupe so I can give it a try myself. I’m sorry, but $20+ for one nail polish, especially one I’m not sure I’m going to like, is just completely out of budget.

  5. Barry M has one that is almost an exact dupe, called Dusky Mauve ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

