MAC Bad Fairy

When I saw the promo pics for the Venomous Villains collection last fall, I fell head over heels in love with MAC Bad Fairy. It went straight to the top of my wish list, even if I hadn’t seen a single swatch yet. The bottle pic looked like nothing I had ever seen before, and I knew that I just had to have it.

As did thousands of other nail polish lovers. This was one of the most anticipated collections last year, and the frenzy was unbelievable. I actually decided not to get Bad Fairy after all, but in the end I caved like a rotten shed in a tornado. Of course, the polish was sold out from MAC’s website, that took no more than half an hour, so I had to resort to the ‘Bay. When I finally got my coveted Fairy, I was so sick of the whole VV collection that I didn’t even want to wear it. I even considered swapping it, but I’m so happy I didn’t!

This is one of the most unique polishes I own. It has a lovely, sparkly foil finish, and the colors change from a deep magenta, to red, gold and sometimes it even looks kinda purple! I took a lot of pictures of the Bad Fairy, so enjoy the spam!

The brush is moppy and weird, and I had to cut away a stray hair before I could start polishing. I’ve heard that a lot of people have had problems with MAC’s brushes. The formula is quite sheer, but it builds nicely and is opaque in 3 coats.

I don’t think there are any true dupes to MAC Bad Fairy. I originally thought OPI The Show Must Go On was a dupe, but as my comparison showed, they are not totally alike. For budget options,  Accessorize Pink Spice is a very close dupe. Another near-dupe is Claire’s Poison Apple, but that’s not a total twin either. You just have to decide for yourself whether you must have the real deal, or if you can live with a few (tiny) differences.

Thanks for reading! Have a wonderful day!
Love, S.

Posted on January 19, 2011, in MAC and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Den är snygg, det är den. Jag är glad att jag har den!

  2. It’s interesting how often you experience ‘collection burnout’ and don’t want to wear newly acquired colors, only to rediscover them sometime later. Both good and bad I guess. I love it when I suddenly remember ‘oh yeah, I got this polish, it’ll be good for a change of pace’.

    Oh and out of the 6 MAC polishes I own the brush looks like crap on 3.

    • Yes, you said it perfectly! On the other hand, it’s nice to finally enjoy a polish you’ve been lemming for a long time, when you finally decide to wear it. ;)
      Too bad about the MAC brushes, for a HE brand I expect something better!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

