Orly Iron Butterfly

I know spring is time for brights, pastels and holos, but sometimes it’s nice to do the complete opposite of what’s expected. I often find myself craving light and bright colors during winter, and today I decided to wear a dark and rocked out matte instead of the pastel cremes I’ve been reaching for lately.

Orly Iron Butterfly was released in 2009 as a part of the Metal Chic collection. It’s a dark charcoal matte with silver glitter, and it looks beautiful both with the original matte finish as well with a glossy topcoat.

This matte was a dream to apply, the consistency is light and easy to work with. It doesn’t dry too fast, so you have plenty of time to even out the polish on the nail. It’s also opaque in one coat, but I’m wearing two coats in these pics because ironically enough I messed up a few of the nails during cleanup and I wanted to even everything out. The color turns from dark charcoal to more black in the second coat.

How do you prefer Iron Butterfly, matte or shiny?

Have a nice day, thanks for reading!
Love, S.

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Orly and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Its a lovely lacquer both ways.

  2. I need to get this. It looks fabulous.

  3. I like the matte much better! Looks awesome!

  4. It reminds me of Man Glaze’s Fuggen Ugly :) I definitely needs this!

  5. Orly Iron Butterfly looks wonderful on your nails. Can’t decide whether I like it with or without a top coat – such different effects that both look great.

    Thanks for swatching it – this colour’s now on my radar. :)

  6. It’s so pretty with the top coat on!

  7. I don’t need any more black mattes. I don’t need any more black mattes.

  8. Very pretty ….Perfect for office. Haha as if I follow rules…..But this looks really elegant. Good job keep it up.

  9. What a great polish, why didn’t I discover it before? :O

    I like it with a top coat, matte blacks sort of remind me of blackened teeth, like the old Asian custom. Which looks kinda scary :S

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

