My new jewels!

I have a new addiction, and it’s making nail polish jewelry! These may look like precious stones, but they are in fact just glass beads painted with nail polish. Amazing, huh? I’ve seen a lot of these creations around in the nail polish forums and blogosphere lately, and it really made me want to try this for myself.

I found a tutorial for these stones on the MakeupAlley nail board, and I jumped to it and ordered some clear cabochons (that’s a fancy word for flat-back glass stones) and ring- and earring fittings. The package arrived today, and I immediately went ballistic with the polish. Now I’m impatiently waiting for the polish to cure completely before I can glue it on the fittings. These look so good that I just had to show them to you right away! (Both pics are of the same stones, but look how the angle of the light makes the colors change!)

Top row L to R: Nfu-Oh 51, Maybelline Colorama Pink Piñata over China Glaze Something Sweet, Nfu-Oh 56, OPI DS Original
Bottom row L to R: Nfu-Oh 51, Nfu-Oh 52, Nfu-Oh 56, Sally Hansen Hidden Treasure

Freakin’ gorgeous, or what!?!
The ovals are going to be rings, while the round ones will be earrings. I just can’t wait to wear these!

Of course, this wasn’t nearly enough, so I went ahead and ordered a lot more supplies today. I have a long list of ideas I want to try out, so I’m really looking forward to getting more stuff to play with. (I bought my supplies here, by the way.)

Thanks for reading, my darlings!
Love, S.

Posted on June 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. These are gorgeous!

  2. Will you by any chance sell the nfu oh 51 earrings? :)

  3. Wow, amazing!! I’m watching the tutorial ;)

  4. Jaha… nu har jag beställt. Hoppas jag lyckas lika bra som du… :D

  5. They are gorgeous! Did you apply black nail polish on the back of the cabochons?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

