Essie St. Barths Blue

I know I write a lot of rave reviews of polish here, but today I’m going to show you that I don’t actually love all polishes equally. The subject is Essie St. Barths Blue, and let me break this disaster down for you.

1. The color. Usually I love colors like these, this is a pale, greyed out pastel blue shimmer. Sounds very chic, doesn’t it? I don’t know what it is, but this polish makes my hands look dirty somehow. It’s also really boring, too pale to be anything but blah.

I’m sorry about these horrible pictures, but I just couldn’t be bothered with this atrocity any longer than neccessary.

2. The brush. It’s super thin, it’s like shoveling snow with a toothpick. Nice if you have narrow nails, not so nice if you have wide nails like me.

3. The formula. It’s thin and sheer. It’s not too bad to apply, but I needed four coats before it was opaque and non-streaky. Even though I used thin coats and waited between them, I still got bubbles. And even though I used Poshé, it never dries! Also, it smells bad, so I think this must be an old formula Essie (and that might also be why it never dries).

Conclusion: I hate this polish! I don’t know if I’ll get rid of it, because it’s a perfect underwear for Deborah Lippmann Glitter In The Air, but when I find a replacement, it’s gone for sure!

Do you have any polishes that are as disastrous as this one?

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Essie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. På handbilden skulle jag kunna tro att det är min hand jag ser! Vi har likadana knogar! Väldigt likt ser det ut faktiskt, förutom tummen. Det har jag inte tänkt på innan för när man ser naglarna i bild är det inte lika likt.
    Och ja, jag har lika usla lack. Några CND bland annat, och säkert massa andra märken med.

  2. Ja, tänk om man kunde bli miljonär på det, då skulle vi kunna köpa alla lack i världen…:D

  3. LOLOLOL! I do think this is an older Essie, if I remember correctly. I think this is the first swatch I’ve seen of this, but I’ve heard of the polish. I don’t much like that color either and it sounds like the formula is a trainwreck! I HATE narrow brushes, like you I have rather wide nails.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

