Funky French With Stamp

I just had to get rid of that awful polish, so instead I decided to do something I almost never do (and something I absolutely don’t know how): A “funky french” manicure. A regular french manicure is as we all know a mani where the free edge of the nail is painted white, while the rest is nude or neutral. A “funky french” is a french manicure with a twist, often made with different colors or with some design added. I used some glitter and a stamp on top, and I don’t think it turned out all that bad.

I did a little “tutorial collage”, so check it out! (You can click the pic to see a bigger version.)

So here’s a step-by-step:

1. After adding a basecoat, paint the tips white, I used China Glaze Snow. You can use french tip guides or do it freehand, I did mine freehand.

2. To give the mani some bling, I used CND Sugar Sparkle, but any sheer glitter or sparkle will do. Seal this with a quick-dry topcoat and wait for it to dry before you go on to step 3.

3. Stamp the nails with the design of your choice, I’ve used Dashica SdP-B with China Glaze Awaken.

4. Add topcoat and clean up around the edges, and you’re done!

This is a simple way to make a boring french manicure a little bit more interesting. Of course you can vary with different colors and stamps, the sky is the limit!

Posted on August 26, 2011, in Nail art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Gah your nails are always so pretty!

  2. Ooooh weeee! This is soft and sexy all at once! Fangirl right here!!!!

  3. Det ble jo et riktig stilig design :) Skjønner at eg må kjøpe den CG lakken også.. må ha noen flere lakker til stempling! “Funky French” er mye mer meg enn vanlig fransk manikyr :)

  4. I don’t usually like Frenchies, but I LOVE this one! Off to try it myself.

  5. Very awesome idea. I never would have though of it!

  6. This is really pretty :)
    I love your nails… wish mine would look that good too :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

