Shimmer-glitter-sparkle-holo-gasm!

I just couldn’t leave well enough alone, so I had to layer something over LA Girls Idol to give it a little more oomph for New Year’s Day. I started out with a coat of China Glaze Blonde Bombshell, which is pretty in its own right. The multi-sized gold glitter goes very well with the dusty blue.

I still wasn’t quite satisified, so I added a coat of CND Crimson Sparkle. That was too subtle, so I needed something more. The magic happened when I finally added a coat of OPI DS Original on top. Holy cow, this is one of my favorite manis to date! In strong light it has the most beautiful holo effect, with a smidge of glitter peeking out underneath. But in low light, the holo effect is more subdued, and it looks more bronze-y, slightly duochrome and very glittery. I’m swooning over here!

Quite a successful layering, if I might say so myself! I need to do this more often, experiment with layers and effects. Even if it doesn’t turn out perfect every time, sometimes you get gems like these and it’s all worth it.

I hope you like it as much as I do! Thanks for reading.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in China Glaze, CND, LA Girl, OPI and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Yes, definitely much better with the layering…very neat, cant wait to see some more experiments.

  2. Wow, vilken underbar glitterfest! Älskar!

  3. Inte illa! Verkligen en härlig glitterbomb!

  4. I love this layering, it’s so amazing! Thanks for showing!

    Best regards!
    Ninea

  5. Wow, Solveig! Well, you know I do love to layer, it’s so much fun to see how something will come out – and you did an amazing job with this, it’s STUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

