The ABCs: A for Amber Ruby

I’m starting a new “series” of sorts here today, or maybe rather a way to challenge myself to wear more of my untrieds. I’m sure you’ve all been there, you have a huge stash of gorgeous colors to choose from, but you just can’t make up your mind! That’s when I came up with the idea of The ABCs, simply to pick my manis alphabetically by polish name! So starting today, I’ll show you a polish (or polishes) starting with the next letter in the alphabet each time. I can’t promise to update every day, but I hope that this little project will give me a kick in the butt I need to make up my mind and just do my nails already! ;)

Without further ado, let’s start at the very beginning with the letter A! Here’s Sally Hansen Amber Ruby, a stunning duochrome from the Nail Prisms line. My pictures doesn’t do it justice at all, it changes from green to gold to orange to red to magenta, such an awesome polish! By the way, if you’re curious about the Sally Hansen Nail Prisms, nailXchange has a useful guide to the whole line here.

Amber Ruby looks gorgeous on the nails, but the formula is far from nice. It’s thin and runny, so it’s difficult to keep it from flooding the cuticles. It builds nicely to opacity in three coats, but the catch is that it never dries! Even with Seche Vite, it was still soft and dentable 12 hours after application. Maybe layering over black will help with the drying issues?

Sally Hansen Nail Prisms are not the easiest to get hold of, I know that US gals have found them randomly in stores here and there, but the safest bet is getting it from blog sales or eBay. If you can’t find it there, you could try Ozotic Pro 520 instead, which can be bought at Picture Polish or Llarowe.

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Sally Hansen, The ABCs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. omfg. I love this! I can’t wait to see more! :D

    I really like how bronzey and sparkly it is!

  2. GREAT idea!! Very pretty color

  3. Good idea for a themed series! Hoping for really random choices =)

  4. Jag älskar Amber Ruby, helt klart ett av mina finaste lack! :-)

  5. Hmm, I don’t know how I feel about that color. Sorry to hear to formula was so bad! I am looking forward to your ABC posts!

  6. ReecesPeeces

    lol I HAVE this and now I want it!! It absolutely needs to be layered. Either over black or a vampy red. Gorgeous on you :D

  7. Great idea with the ABC-challenge!!

  8. Wow a true stunner! I love your abc idea, can’t wait to follow you through the alphabet!

  9. Too bad it didn’t dry and applied terribly. It looks gorg in pics though and aren’t all pretty models terrible in behaviour ;)? As long as the results are pretty haha.

  10. Ett av mina favoritlack. Jag älskar verkligen Sally Hansens Nail Prisms. Både de duokroma och de holografiska är såååååå fina!

  11. Hej! Lovely colour even though not for me. Absolutely love the alphabet idea, so much that I’m considering copying it to our blog. I think q and x might be tough ones at least for me. And I’ll be leaving the skands out of my version too, I think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

