The ABCs: X for Xtravagance

I guess I didn’t think this ABC thing all the way through, because these last letters are proving really difficult to write about! Well, at least I get to use my imagination and creativity, and that’s not all bad.

Last week, my husband and I went to see “The Hunger Games”. I don’t think any nail polish enthusiasts could have missed hearing about this movie, China Glaze even made a collection based on it! (I have to admit I hadn’t even heard about either the movie or the books it’s based on before China Glaze released their collection, so for I kinda got the information the other way around.)

Anyway, I couldn’t help but notice the gorgeous manicure worn by Elizabeth Banks as Effie Trinket during The Reaping.

I’m positive I’m not the first and probably not the last who was inspired by the colorful citizens of Capitol, but I just loved this mani so much and I couldn’t wait to make my own version of it.

I decided to take it even more over the top, in true Capitol spirit, so I used Milani Purple Gleam as a base and Lynnderella Change sponged on the tips. A truly xtravagant and Effie-worthy manicure!

Purple Gleam was easy to apply, albeit very thick and glittery. But it’s a One Coat Glitter, so that’s expected. I had to use two coats to get it truly opaque, though. I’ve also used a buttload of topcoat, because these are thirsty glitters!

Are you often inspired by movies, books or other art when doing your nails?

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Lynnderella, Milani, Nail art, The ABCs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. this is fantastic! it looks even more awesome than the one effie’s wearing :D

  2. You did such an EXcellent job!!! ;) Just beautiful!
    Her nails caught my eye first thing I as well.

  3. Oh wow, this is so so gorgeous and indeed xtravagant! But stunning <3.

  4. sannajosefie

    wow! :D

  5. ❤❤❤ that purple. Loved that movie !!

  6. Det här är bland det tjusigaste jag sett!

  7. One word: WOW! :D

  8. Nails and Noms

    I love this! I so very much want to recreate this mani and her other one from the movie. Gorgeous! ^_^

  9. I love purple gleam. I still consider it a one coat glitter, because when most ppl think glitter, it’s as a top coat. I always wear it over black. It’s perfect that way, and it lasts longer for me. Effie’s mani was nice, but yours was gorgeous. Ialso didn’t hear about this book series until the polish and movie trailers came about. I dove in and read all 3 and saw the movie. Good stuff. I was mad they did not give Katniss a flame manicure.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

