Happy Hands Springs and Afternoon Thunderstorms

Recently my friend Kristi launched her nail polish line Happy Hands Nail Polish, and her first collection is called Greetings from Florida. The four polishes in this collection is inspired by her area of Florida, which isn’t all beaches, bikinis and sunshine. I was lucky enough to be able to pre-order directly from her, and I got two of the four polishes. I couldn’t wait to put these on when they arrived, and I hope you’ll like them as much as I do!

The first one I tried is called Afternoon Thunderstorms. This is a stormy gray jelly with two sizes of black hexes and golden shimmer reminiscent of lightning strikes. You all know I’m wild about gold shimmer, so naturally I had to have this! It’s definitely a different summer polish, but when I put it on, I realized it reminded me of seagull’s eggs. So it’s kinda summery after all.

Afternoon Thunderstorms was really easy to apply, and the glitters are extremely willing to come out and play. They distribute easily and evenly on the nail. I used three thin coats to achieve opacity. The end result is a tad thick on the nail, especially since I had to use four coats of top coat to even out the bumps. I think I’ll try layering it over a grey creme next time, the glitter is dense enough that one coat is sufficient to get the effect. The gold shimmer is also very visible in bright light, but my pic is in the shade, so it barely peeks out. It’s beautiful, though!

The next polish I got is called Springs. This is a chilly & serene turquoise jelly with small aqua hexes, algae green medium hexes, and shimmering medium silver holographic hexes. This is pretty unique, I haven’t seen anything like it! It makes me think of swimming pools and fizzy drinks.

This was also really easy to apply, although I had to dab around a little bit to distribute the bigger hexes on the nail. Because of the sheer jelly base, I layered this over China Glaze For Audrey, which is the perfect match for Springs! This is two coats of FA with two coats of Springs.

You can purchase Happy Hands Nail Polish in Kristi’s Etsy shop, which opens this Saturday (7/14). Polishes will be $8 a bottle.

What do you think of Happy Hands?

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Happy Hands and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. How cute! I loved the blue one :)
    Hexes are gorgeous!

  2. I need to get indiepolish I’ve seen some really good makes, present products included!!

  3. Afternoon Thunderstorms looks amazing!

  4. I am in love with springs! I may need to check that out.

    http://sunnynerds.blogspot.com

  5. det ser ut att vara jättefina lack!

  6. That is awesome! Another polish to add to my wishlist. I REALLY like the Afternoon Thunderstorms…

  7. Oh my goodness, Solveig! I love these on your nails, and am so glad you like them! <3

  8. Stunning and unusual, both of them! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

